Spirituality

Disclaimer: These personal opinions and beliefs expressed are mine alone, and are not intended to cause hurt or offence to any persons. I welcome any and all persons regardless of race, gender, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, age, disability. This is a safe, open place for all.  

 

I am not a religious person, however I am spiritual. No I don’t cleanse my crystals in the moonlight, nor do I light candles at an alter. The only Zodiac I know the traits of is my own, and while I would love to get into it I do not follow the movements of the planets and I have no clue what their movements mean for us here on Earth. I do believe in it though.

Ever since I can remember I have ;had a love for nature; Being barefoot outside, rolling in the grass, climbing trees, making mud pies (literally, mud pies with mud and grass and anything else I could get my hands on in the backyard). Now that I’m older my outdoor activities generally lean more towards hiking and cloud watching. Being barefoot is still a love of mine though, it’s incredibly therapeutic. In fact, there has been a lot of study in how beneficial Earthing, having your bare skin connect directly with the earth, is for your overall health and well-being (here is a link to an article I read if you would like more information on it).

During my high school years my passion for the Earths energy grew and my own belief system grew with it. I started researching and I found that so many different religions had aspects to them that I strongly related to, as well as a lot of mythology. While it would be near impossible for me to give you a complete understanding of what my belief system is as it is so wide ranging, I am going to try and give you an overview of the largest aspects of it.

First off I want to explain that I believe in a Multiverse, and while I have no idea how it was created I do believe that everything is connected and that there are multiple Gods and Goddesses. Not as invisible people in the heavens (or depths of the Earth) but as the actual particles and atoms and mysteries that make us as the collective real and alive. While it isn’t common for me to say prayer, when I do, I talk to Gaea, Mother Earth from the Ancient Greek mythology. Something about Her fills me with hope and I feel a greater connection to Her energy and spirit then any of the other deities.

I think my connection to Gaea stems from my utter conviction that natural magic is real, being the magic of the elements, in our Universe. Tied in with this is astrology and how the movements of the planets and the stars and the moon affect us here on Earth. I really really wish that I knew more about astrology and one of my goals in life is to study it and gain a greater understanding of what it all means, for now though I am just content knowing that people out there do have a greater understanding and share their knowledge online. Now I don’t actively practice magic as it’s something I have a huge amount of respect for and I don’t believe I have the skills and knowledge to fully comprehend what it entails.

Related to magic in our Universe, I believe in the Fae. However, I don’t believe they reside in our Universe but instead in a Universe that overlaps our own. I am of the belief that there are some people (any many animals) that can see through the veil connecting our Universes. This may seem like a crazy concept to some people, but really what’s the difference between this and believing in Aliens from Outer Space? We have proof of neither and countless stories of both. As for the Fae, they spark my imagination intensely and they have honestly formed such a huge part of my personality and who I am as a person.

During the Winter months the Unseelie Court of the Fae are in session, while during the Summer months the Seelie Court are ruling. While the respective courts are in power, their unique energy and essence seeps through the veil and slightly alters how we perceive things. I think it’s important to know which Court of the Fae is in power as it could help you understand why you may be feeling a particular way in certain seasons. This then allows you to consciously balance out their influence b drawing on the appropriate natural energies from our Universe.

The last thing that I would like to try and share about my beliefs is what happens after you die. The rational part of me believes that it is just nothing. You die and there is nothing. You are gone. No afterlife, no feelings, thoughts, consciousness of any kind. No dark, no light, just nothing. While I believe that, I much prefer this version and it’s this version that I hold on to with a greater amount of hope. I know what I am about to say is completely fictional as I read it in a“This is what’ll happen,” she said, “and it’s true, perfectly true. When you go out of here, all the particles that make you up will loosen and float apart, just like your daemons did. If you’ve seen people dying, you know what that looks like. But your daemons en’t just nothing now; they’re part of everything. All the atoms that were them, they’ve gone into the air and the wind and the trees and the earth and all the living things. They’ll never vanish. They’re just part of everything. And that’s exactly what’ll happen to you, I swear to you, I promise on my honor. You’ll drift apart, it’s true, but you’ll be out in the open, part of everything alive again.”  book (His Dark Materials). I know that this is something that Philip Pullman made up, but it spoke to me in a way that no other definition of what happens after death ever has. In fact there are a LOT of quotes in that trilogy I love and I highly recommend giving it a read. The easiest way to explain will just be to quote it for you:

“This is what’ll happen,” she said, “and it’s true, perfectly true. When you go out of here, all the particles that make you up will loosen and float apart, just like your daemons did. If you’ve seen people dying, you know what that looks like. But your daemons en’t just nothing now; they’re part of everything. All the atoms that were them, they’ve gone into the air and the wind and the trees and the earth and all the living things. They’ll never vanish. They’re just part of everything. And that’s exactly what’ll happen to you, I swear to you, I promise on my honor. You’ll drift apart, it’s true, but you’ll be out in the open, part of everything alive again.”

– Lyra, talking to all the ghosts trapped in the Land of the Dead.

 

I am a very spiritual person, but I am not religious. I believe in what makes me happy, regardless of what religion or myth or even fictional story it comes from. If it makes sense to me that’s all that matters.

You should believe in whatever you want. It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t fall strictly into one particular religion or faith, just as it is also perfectly fine if it does. If it makes sense to you, and speaks to your soul, that is what’s important.

I would love to hear your thoughts on my own spirituality, or any questions you may have. Also, what do you believe in? Always interested to hear what other peoples beliefs are!  Leave a comment below to talk

 

#DaisyFae

Leave a Reply

